SA Olive Awards 2015 results

September 5, 2015
by Christian
in News
with 0 Comments
Vittoria Jooste and Kallie Frey

Vittoria Jooste of the South African Olive Industry Association and Kallie Frey of De Rustica.

South Africa’s finest extra virgin olive oils were announced at the 10th annual SA Olive Awards recently.

A total of 19 premium extra virgin olive oils received gold medals in three categories – three for Delicate, 10 for Medium and six for Intense style oils.

The trio of gold medal winners in the Delicate category are: De Rustica Delicate Press, Rio Largo Delicato and Tokara Mission Delicate EVOO.

Top honours in the Medium category went to Babylonstoren EVOO, De Boerin EVOO, De Rustica Mountain Press, De Rustica Frantoio Press, Kransfontein Frantoio Olive Oil, Lettaskraal EVOO, Marbrin Olive Growers Mild, Mont Rouge Olives, Porterville Olives Andante Mezzo and Wildekrans EVOO Field Blend Selection.

The Intense category yielded six gold medallists: Kransfontein Coratina Olive Oil, Mulderbosch EVOO, Pick ‘n Pay Finest SA EVOO, Porterville Olives Andante Intenso, Tokara Premium EVOO and Willow Creek Directors Reserve.

De Rustica situated in the Swartberg mountains of the Southern Cape won the most gold medals, that is three.

The competition attracted 91 entries this year which vied for Gold, Silver and Bronze medals. In addition to the 19 gold medals, 60 Silver and 10 Bronze medals were awarded. Full results are available on the SA Olive website.

Tagged , , ,

Share this post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


AEC v1.0.4
  • November 23, 2017FNB Eastern Cape Wine Show
  • November 29, 2017Stellenbosch at Summer Place - presented by Sanlam Private Wealth
AEC v1.0.4
newlstter2 Get the biggest stories of the past fortnight sent directly to your inbox. subscribe

Wine magazine was published from October 1993 until September 2011 & now lives on in digital form as We cover everything to do with SA fine wine.

XSLT Plugin by Leo Jiang