Topical pic: Nedeburg is Platter’s 2011 Winery of the Year

November 17, 2010
by Christian
in News
with 0 Comments
Tariro Masayiti and Razvan Macici of Nederburg.

Tariro Masayiti and Razvan Macici of Nederburg.

The Winery of the Year award in the annual Platter’s guide is the personal selection of editor Philip van Zyl, after considering a variety of criteria, the aim being to showcase a producer which epitomises the best of South African winegrowing today.

This year Nederburg accumulated a record 5 five-star accolades (Ingenuity White 2009, Ingenuity Red 2007, Private Bin D253 Sauvignon Blanc- Chardonnay, Private Bin Edelkeur 2009 and Winemaster’s Reserve Noble Late Harvest 2009) plus the award for Superquaffer of the Year for Lyric 2010 and this Paarl winery was therefore the obvious choice.

It’s worth noting that Nederburg’s status as Winery of the Year in Platter’s 2011 comes after it won the Fairbairn Capital trophy for most successful producer at the Old Mutual Trophy Wine Show in both 2008 and 2009. Good for South African wine? You bet. As Macici said at last night’s launch function, “We don’t make 3 000 litres a year. We make over 14 million.”

Tagged , , , ,

Share this post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


AEC v1.0.4
  • November 23, 2017FNB Eastern Cape Wine Show
  • November 29, 2017Stellenbosch at Summer Place - presented by Sanlam Private Wealth
AEC v1.0.4
newlstter2 Get the biggest stories of the past fortnight sent directly to your inbox. subscribe

Wine magazine was published from October 1993 until September 2011 & now lives on in digital form as We cover everything to do with SA fine wine.

XSLT Plugin by Leo Jiang