Absa Top 10 Pinotage competition 2013 winners

By , 30 August 2013



Tariro Masayiti and Hildegard Witbooi of Springfontein.

Tariro Masayiti and Hildegard Witbooi of Springfontein.

The winners of the 17th annual Absa Top 10 competition are as follows:

Anura  Reserve2011
Diemersdal 2012
L’Avenir 2011
Lyngrove Platinum 2012
Manley  2011
The Back Roads 2012 (Black Elephant Vintners)
Rijk’s Reserve  2009
Rooiberg  Reserve 2012
Springfontein Jonathan’s Ridge 2010
Wildekrans  2011

Guests attending today’s awards function were able to taste the 20 finalists of the winners before the announcement of the winners. My personal top 10:

Kanonkop 2010

Kanonkop 2009
L’Avenir 2011
Môreson  2011

KWV The Mentors 2011

Diemersdal Reserve 2009
Rijk’s Reserve  2009

Fairview Primo 2011
Lyngrove Platinum 2012
Simonsig Redhill 2011


4 comment(s)

  • jeremy Sampson31 August 2013

    I wonder how many of those available in Joburg

  • jeremy Sampson31 August 2013

    Why doesn’t someone sell a case of all the winners ? Why is there no marketing of these wines? Why simply a function for the winners 🙂 the usual suspects 🙁 and nothing else? Why not bring a tasting to Joburg. ABSA you should know better and leverage your sponsorship. Pathetic.

    • Jacques Wentzel31 August 2013

      Hi Jeremy,

      The Top 10 wines are available in an exclusive wooden box from Wine of the month club. ABSA and the Pinotage Association will also be doing the Pinotage roadshow to JHB, KZN and PE soon. Send me your details and I will keep you updated on all the events.

      Follow us @BEVintners

  • Cybercellar.com1 September 2013

    Hi Jeremy,

    All of the ABSA Top 10 Pinotage winners are available from Cybercellar.com. We also have a mixed case of 6 of the winners for only R559. Contact us for your own personalized ABSA Top 10 Pinotage Mixed Cases

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *