Global Trader Shiraz Challenge 2010 results

By , 15 July 2010



WINE magazine August 2010Results of the Global Trader Shiraz Challenge 2010 convened by WINE magazine were announced earlier today during a function held at Catharina’s restaurant at the Steenberg hotel in Constantia.

There were 184 entries received in total and the overall winner was Provenance 2007 made by Dewaldt Heyns of Saronsberg in Tulbagh and the best value winner (with a rating of 3 Stars and an approximate retail price of R24.95 a bottle) was Obikwa 2009, made by Michael Bucholz of Distell.


Four and a half stars
1. Saronsberg Provenance 2007
2. Rickety Bridge 2008

Four stars
3. Benguela Cove Walker Bay Premium Selection 2008
4. Eagles’ Nest 2008
5. Spier Private Collection 2007
6. Hartenberg 2006
7. Terra D’Aria The Soprano Reserve 2008
8. Flagstone Dark Horse 2007
9. Windmeul Reserve 2008
10. Rainbow’s End Single Vineyard 2008

Avontuur Dominion Royale Reserve 2008
Bon Courage Limited Release Inkará 2008
De Grendel 2008
Dunstone 2008
Fort Simon 2007
Glenelly The Glass Collection 2009
Steenberg 2008

For the record, the panel consisted of myself (chair), Carrie Adams of retailer Norman Goodfellows, sommelier Miguel Chan of Southern Sun Deluxe Hotels, James Pietersen, beverage manager of Balducci’s and Belthazar restaurants in Cape Town and Wine Master Christine Rudman.

More reporting at


2 comment(s)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *