Glenelly Lady May 2015

By , 25 January 2021

Comment

10

The 2015 vintage of Lady May, the top-end Cape Bordeaux red blend from Stellenbosch property Glenelly, is due for release shortly and winemaker Luke O’Cuinneagain recently hosted a small tasting to see how his wine might fare against two leading examples of the same vintage from Bordeaux, namely Rauzan-Ségla 2015 from Margaux and Cos d’Estournel from Saint Estèphe, both second growths. Tasting notes and ratings as follows:

Glenelly Lady May 2015
69% Cabernet Sauvignon, 13% Cabernet Franc, 11% Merlot and 7% Petit Verdot. Cassis, violets, fynbos and dark chocolate on the nose – that much more immediate and expressive than either of its two Bordeaux counterparts. The palate is full but balanced with dense fruit, good freshness and firm but fine tannins. Showing both focus and poise, this was my top wine of the trio right now although I did wonder if it will last quite as long.

CE’s rating: 96/100.

Buy This Wine

Chateau Rauzan-Ségla 2015
63% Cabernet Sauvigno, 33% Merlot, 3% Petit Verdot and 1% Cabernet Franc. Red and black berries, some evocative floral perfume and a touch of oystershell. The palate is medium bodied with a nice energy about it – fresh with fine tannins. Tighly wound, elegant and refined.

CE’s rating: 95/100.

Chateau Cos d’Estournel 2015
75% Cabernet Sauvignon, 23.5% Merlot and 1.5% Cabernet Franc. Cassis, turned earth, oak spice and a little boot polish on the nose. The palate is rich and broad with sweet, dense fruit and polished tannins, the finish gently savoury. Compelling on account of its reined-in power.

CE’s rating: 94/100.

Check out our South African wine ratings database.

Attention: Reviews like this take time and effort to create. We need your support to make our work possible. To make a financial contribution, click here. Invoice available upon request – contact info@winemag.co.za

Comments

10 comment(s)

Please read our Comments Policy here.

  • Pat Naidoo26 January 2021

    When can we order 😁🍾

  • Daryl25 January 2021

    Both the Cos & Rauzan-Segla 2015s are great wines, but I wouldn’t even consider opening them before 2025-30. They will drink exceptionally for another decade after that!

  • GillesP25 January 2021

    A bit pointless to compare this wine now with these 2 fabulous Bordeaux which won’t reveal anything at 5 years of age. In 5 to 10 years from now, they will outclass the Lady May by miles.

  • Christian Eedes25 January 2021

    Hi Dion and Hennie,

    Maturation lasted 24 months in 100% new oak and analysis is as follows:
    Alcohol: 14.5%
    TA: 5.7g/l
    pH: 3.52
    RS: 2.1g/l

    My comment regarding age-worthiness is prompted simply by the fact that the Lady May 2015 already appears that much more accessible than either of the two wines from Bordeaux. That said, I think the local 2015 vintage is indeed pretty special and the top wines should go quite a bit longer than the usual 10 or so years that modern SA reds have tended to offer… earlier in the day, O’Cuinneagain poured a vertical of Lady May from 2008 to 2017 and the 2011, for instance, is only hitting its straps now.

  • Dion Martin25 January 2021

    Dear Christian

    You say that you have your doubts if the wine will last quite as long. Could you maybe expand a little as to why you feel that way.

    Cheers

  • Hennie C25 January 2021

    Hi Christian

    Do you have the technical analysis available for the Glenelly?

    • Hennie C25 January 2021

      Sorry, and can you also elaborate why you say it won’t last as long? What do you consider is a long time? And is it in the Bordeaux context or the South African context?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like our content?

Show your support.

Contribute