Home // News

Two new Cape Winemakers Guild members announced

By , 11 December 2018

Pretorius, OKeefe and Gerber

JD Pretorius, Samantha O’Keefe and CWG chairman Boela Gerber.

The Cape Winemakers Guild has two new members, namely JD Pretorius and Samantha O’Keefe.

Pretorius, who has enjoyed a successful career at Constantia property Steenberg spanning some 10 years, will be joining Warwick in Stellenbosch during the course of next year whilst O’Keefe is owner/winemaker of Lismore Estate Vineyards in Greyton. She is the sixth woman to be inducted into the Guild and brings the current membership of women to three, alongside Rianie Strydom and Andrea Mullineux.

Membership of the Guild is by invitation only and is extended to winemakers who have been responsible for the production of outstanding wines for a minimum of five years, and who continue to do so. Total membership now stands at 48 with 44 being producing members and thus eligible to submit wines for the annual Nedbank Cape Winemakers Guild Auction. Any Guild member may become a non-producing member once they stop making their own wine.


0 comment(s)

Please read our Comments Policy here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like our content?

Show your support.