Home // News

Veritas Awards 2012 results

By , 7 October 2012



Top performing producer at the 2012 Veritas Awards is KWV with five double gold and seven gold medals for their wines, the second year running that this cellar has achieved this. In second place was Nederburg with 4 double gold medals and 12 gold medals.

KWV’s wines to win double gold included the following: The Mentors Pinotage 2010, The Mentor Shiraz 2010, 1933 White Jerepigo Limited Edition, 1969 Hanepoot Jerepigo and a non-vintage Classic Collection Cape Tawny.

In the category for brandy which drew 33 entries, KWV and Van Ryn’s both scooped two double gold medals.

This year 1 744 wines and brandies were entered (compared to 1 739 in 2011) and 58 (3.3%) double gold, 147 (8.4%) gold, 499 (28.6%) silver and 677 (38.8%) bronze medals, landing the total medals awarded at 1 381.

Double gold winners as follows:

Flight of the Fish Eagle
KWV 15 year Old
KWV 20 year Old
Klipdrift Gold
Oude Meester 12 year Reserve
Van Ryn’s 10 year Old
Van Ryn’s 15 year Old

Cabernet Sauvignon
Cederberg Five Generations 2010
Dieu Donné 2010
Edgebaston 2010
Guardian Peak Lapa 2010
Perdeberg Winery 2011

Durbanville Hills 2011
Fleur du Cap Unfiltered 2011
Jordan 2010
Jordan Nine Yards 2011

Chenin Blanc
Kanu KCB 2008
Leopard’s Leap Family Collection 2011
Under Oaks Limited Release 2012
Villiera 2011

Boplaas Cape Vintage Reserve 2009
Boplaas Cape Vintage Reserve 2010
KWV Classic Collection Cape Tawny N/V
KWV Hanepoot Jerepigo 1969
KWV White Jerepigo Limited Edition 1933
Rooiberg Winery Red Muscadel 2009

Graham Beck Blanc de Blancs Brut 2008
Pongrácz Desiderius 2003

Marianne 2007
Muratie Alberta Annemarie 2008
Nederburg Private Bin R181 2007

Noble Late Harvest
Nederburg Winemaster’s Reserve NLH 2010
Nederburg Private Bin Edelkeur Chenin Blanc NLH 2004
Nederburg Private Bin Edelkeur Chenin Blanc NLH 2008

KWV The Mentors 2010
Simonsig Redhill 2009
Tokara 2010
Windmeul Reserve 2011

Red Blends
Creation Syrah/Grenache 2010
Guardian Peak SMG 2010
Jordan Cobblers Hill 2008
Nabygelegen Seventeen Twelve 2007

Sauvignon Blanc
Bloemendal 2012
Buitenverwachting Husseys Vlei 2012
Christina Van Loveren 2011
Diemersdal MM Louw 2011
Flagstone Free Run Elgin Reserve 2011
Kleine Zalze Family Reserve 2007
Lomond Sugarbush 2011
Merwida 2012
Simonsig Sunbird 2012
Windmeul 2012

Cederberg 2010
Cirrus Syrah 2009
Ernie Els Proprietors Syrah 2010
KWV The Mentors 2010
Rust en Vrede 2010

Straw Wine
Goede Hoop 2010


1 comment(s)

Please read our Comments Policy here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like our content?

Show your support.