Home // News

Absa Top 10 Pinotage Competition 2019 finalists

By , 25 July 2019



AbsaTop102019The final 20 in the running for honours in this year’s Absa Top 10 Pinotage competition have been announced:

Anura Reserve 2016
Badsberg 2018
Beyerskloof Winemaker’s Reserve 2017
Diemersdal MM Louw 2017
Diemersdal Reserve 2018
Fleur de Cap Series Privée 2016
Kanonkop 2015
Kanonkop 2017
KWV The Mentors (Coastal) 2017
Lutzville Francois le Vaillant 2016
Môreson Widow Maker 2016
Overhex Survivor 2017
Simonsig Redhill 2016
Simonsig Redhill 2017
Viljoensdrift River Grandeur Single Vineyard 2017
Vondeling Bowwood 2016
Wildekrans Barrel Select Reserve 2015
Wildekrans Barrel Select Reserve 2016
Windmeul Reserve 2016
Windmeul The Legend Collection 2017

Museum Class Finalists
Fairview Primo 2007
Hill & Dale 2007
Rijk’s Private Cellar 2009

The panel was: Winnie Bowman CWM (chair), Greg Sherwood MW, Razvan Macici, Nomonde Kubheka, Frans Smit and Solly Monyamane (protégé).

The top 10 will be announced on 14 August 2019.


1 comment(s)

Please read our Comments Policy here.

    Angela Lloyd | 25 July 2019

    Many of the (deserved) usual names here, but where are the cool-climate pinotages? I might be mistaken, but this list doesn’t suggest there are any. Are none entered, or are they swamped by the more traditional, full-bodied style? A pity on either score, as real diversity among the Top 10 would benefit the variety & its image immensely.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like our content?

Show your support.