Home // News

Shiraz SA Challenge 2018 results

By , 30 May 2018

156 entries were received for the sixth annual Shiraz SA Wine Challange, the top 12 as follows:

Alvi’s Drift Signature 2016
Babylonstoren 2016
Bloemendal Syrah 2013
Boschkloof Louis 57 2016
D’Aria The Soprano 2016
De Grendel Elim 2016
Diemersfontein 2017
Eagles’ Nest 2015
KWV Cathedral Cellar Siraz 2015
Oldenburg Vineyards Syrah 2014
Saronsberg Provenance 2016
Wellington La Cave 2016

There were 36 Shiraz-based blends entered, the top three as follows:
Babylonstoren Babel 2016
Saronsberg Full Circle 2016
Spier Creative Block 3 2015

The panel consisted of Dr Andy Roediger CWM (chair) plus Jacques Borman (Boschkloof), Jeanne-Mari de Villiers (Odd Bins Checkers), Charles Hopkins (De Grendel), Samarie Smith (brand business manager for Benguela Cove and previously wine journalist for Die Burger) and Edmund Terblanche (La Motte and Shiraz SA Chairperson) as well as Claus Fischer from Germany – Fischer has been tasting for Mundus Vini since 2003, serves on their governing body and is Vinventions’ chief technician for quality issues. Vinventions is also the main sponsor for this competition. 








0 comment(s)

Please read our Comments Policy here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like our content?

Show your support.